General Policy College Council


The mission of the Council will be the development of policies in areas having to do with matters other than educational policy or curriculum. Where appropriate, the Council will make recommendations to the Board of Trustees for action.

As the need arises for policy formulation (e.g., a new policy on sexual harassment in the workplace), the Council will establish subcommittees, to consist of members of the Council and appropriate other members of the community, to meet, consult, and produce policy recommendations.

The membership of these subcommittees will be determined by consultation among the President of the College, the President of the Faculty, and the President of CSA. Chairs of these subcommittees, normally members of the Council, will also be named by the three Presidents. Subcommittee membership may be reviewed by the Council.

The Budget Committee will be a standing subcommittee of the Council.


The President of the College will serve as Chair. In addition, the membership will include:

  • 3 Senior Administrative Officers
  • 2 Staff
  • 5 Faculty
  • 5 Students
  • 1 Alumnus or Alumna (Observer)
  • 1 Trustee (Observer)

Senior Administrative Officers will be selected by the President, and their terms of service will be determined by the President. One staff representative will be elected by and from the salaried staff (monthly payroll) and one by and from the hourly staff (bi-weekly payroll); terms for each will be two years, elections for each to be held in alternating years.

The President of the Faculty and the Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee will serve on the Council ex officio during their entire three-year terms of office. Three other members of the faculty, one of them to be without tenure, will be elected at large by vote of the faculty meeting for two-year terms.

The President of the CSA will serve on the Council ex officio. The other four student members will be elected by the student body for one-year terms, to run concurrent with the academic year.

The Board of Trustees and the Alumni Board will each designate a representative to attend Council meetings as a non-voting observer.


The Council will meet regularly during the term. Council meetings will be open to all members of the college community unless the nature of the business justifies a closed executive session. Policy proposals may be approved by a majority vote of Council members attending a meeting; a quorum of 10 will be required to transact business. Proposals for Council consideration may be placed on the agenda by action of the President or by petition of any five members of Council.

Subcommittees will normally meet weekly until their work has been accomplished, when they will disband. The Budget Committee will also meet weekly, but, as a standing subcommittee, will not disband. Subcommittee meetings will be advertised and open to the public, and subcommittees will be expected to publish and circulate minutes to the campus at large as well as to members of the Council.

The campus community, as well as the Alumni Board and the Board of Trustees, will be immediately informed of Council actions. The Board of Trustees need not respond to every action of Council.